November 2001 News

NC''s autonomy will never be acceptable: Congress

18 November 2001
The Daily Excelsior
Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU: Former Member Parliament and senior Congress leader Pt. Mangat Ram Sharma has said that autonomy propagated by National Conference will never be acceptable to the Congressmen and the Party will oppose it tooth and nail. Addressing a massive public rally at Karan Bagh in Gandhinagar Assembly constituency, the Ex-MP said that autonomy propagated by Dr Farooq Abdullah will not remove the basic problems and it will not improve the living standard of the people here. The National Conference Government has failed on all the fronts and problems of the people have multiplied under its reign. The Congress leader alleged that present ruling government in the state had been installed by illegal means and the elections were manipulated by mass rigging in 1996 with the help of Deve Gowda ministry. He urged upon the people to bring back the Congress Party to power in J&K state through democratic process so that the miseries of the people could be mitigated. Speaking on the occasion senior Congress leader Raman Bhalla who organised the rally, alleged that Dr Farooq Abdullah and his ministers have accumulated disproportionate assets by illegal means and demanded setting up of high power commission to inquire income and properties of NC leaders and its legislators. There was mad race among these leaders to loot the public exchequer. Several cases under JRY and Indira Awas Yojna are being rejected and the people connected with NC are benefitted through these schemes. Mr Bhalla said that state government is adopting delaying tactics in giving ex-gratia- relief to militancy affected families of police and security personnel. The CM is busy in foreign trips and in the construction of platial house at Bhathindi and a few hotels abroad. He also advised BJP leaders not to befool the public as they have been totally exposed now for being hand in gloves with the NC. Prominent among those who addressed the gathering included—MLA Kalakot, Ashok Sharma, Dr I S Bakshi, Capt Jagan Nath, Karanjit Singh, Amrik Singh, Malkeet Singh, Gurdev Singh, Parveen Singh, Roop Singh, Hardit Singh, Dr Avtar Singh and others.


Return to the Archives 2001 Index Page

Return to Home Page