November 2002 News

Mufti takes oath as J&K chief minister

2 November 2002
The Hindustan Times

Srinagar: Mufti Mohammed Sayeed was on Saturday sworn-in as Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir heading a PDP led coalition government. Mangatram Sharma of Congress was sworn-in as Deputy Chief Minister by Governor Girish Chander Saxena at a well-attended function at Sher-e-Kashmir International Convention Centre amidst tight security. The 66-year- old Sayeed is expected to keep the key portfolio of Home with him. Muzaffar Beg of PDP was sworn-in Peerzada-in as a Cabinet minister. Mufti, who heads the PDP-Cong coalition government, would be the sixth Chief Minister of the state. His government has the outside support of Peoples Democratic Front comprising independents and CPI (M) legislators. The ceremony was attended by Congress President Sonia Gandhi, senior party leaders Manmohan Singh and Ambika Soni. National Conference President Omar Abdullah was also present. Ghulam Hassan Mir of PDP who defeated Mustafa Kamal, brother of Farooq Abdullah, in Gulmarg, and Mula Ram, a trusted lietenant of state PCC chief Ghulam Nabi Azad, were sworn in as Cabinet ministers. Panthers Party's Harsh Dev Singh was also sworn in as a Cabinet minister. Two independents, Nawang Rigzin from Leh and Haji Nissar Ali representing Kargil Assembly seat, were sworn-in as Ministers of State.


Return to the Archives 2002 Index Page

Return to Home Page