March 2003 News

Mufti And 12 Others Take Oath As MLCs

16 March 2003
The Hindustan Times

Jammu: Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed and 12 others on Monday took oath as members of the state legislative council. Mufti was the first to be administered oath as MLC by the Chairman of Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Council AR Dar in the Central Hall of the Assembly. He was followed by former Member of Parliament and senior Congress leader P Namgyal from Leh district in Ladakh region. Other who took oath included Nasar Ullah from Kargil, Ali Mohammad Sofi (Congress) from Kashmir, Amrit Malhotra and Lal Mohammad Saber, both (Congress) from Jammu, Bashir Ahmed Naz (National Conference) from Jammu, and Ved Prakash Gupta (PDP) also from Jammu. All of them were elected to the legislative council after being declared winners in the council elections on March 5. Those who were nominated and took oath as MLCs included Sardar Pradhmun Singh (Congress) from Jammu, Gulchain Singh Charak (Congress) from Jammu, Bhim Singh (JKNPP) from Jammu and Gulam Nabi Lone (PDP) from Kashmir. However, Tariq Ahmed Qarra (PDP) from Kashmir could not take oath in view of his being out of Jammu. He is likely to take oath in the next few days.


Return to the Archives 2003 Index Page

Return to Home Page