October 2004 News

J-K Bypolls: Cong 9, BJP 5, Mufti Enters Assembly

16 October 2004
The Pioneer

New Delhi: Congress romped home in nine assembly constituencies and BJP five while Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed won the prestigious Pahalgam seat as results started pouring in for bypolls held in 16 states on Wednesday.Congress bagged three assembly seats in Gujarat, two in Punjab and one each in Rajasthan, Nagaland, Manipur and Andhra Pradesh. Its arch-rival BJP emerged triumphant in two seats in Gujarat and one each in Goa, Himachal Pradesh and Rajasthan out of 16 assembly bypoll results available till noon. The remaining two seats were shared by ruling PDP in Jammu and Kashmir and MIM in Andhra Pradesh. PDP C Sayeed humbled his National Conference rival Rafi Mir in Pahalgam to enter the state assembly after a gap of 17 years. Ruling BJP and opposition Congress shared a seat apiece in Rajasthan assembly bypolls. BJP wrested Behrod seat from Congress which snatched Merta seat from the saffron party.


Return to the Archives 2004 Index Page

Return to Home Page