February 2005 News

Civic Polls: Cong-PDP Major Gainers In Jammu, Kathua

8 February 2005
The Indian Express

Jammu: Despite a few shocks at some places, the ruling Congress and its ally PDP have won 97 seats out of 201 in the civic polls. The BJP gave a tough fight to the ruling alliance at a few places and secured second position by winning 47 seats. Independents have also established their lead in 34 seats. The Congress has already won four seats unopposed. In Monday's polls, the Congress won 77 seats, whereas the PDP won only 20 seats. In Jammu district, the Congress- PDP alliance secured a majority in seven committees and councils. In Jourian committee, out of the seven seats, Congress won three, Independents three and BSP one. Of the 13 Khour committee seats, the Congress won nine seats, BJP three and Independents one. In Gho Manhasan, out of seven seats, the Congress won three, BJP two, and one each by NC and Independents. In Akhnoor, which is the home constituency of Congress MP Madan Lal, the Congress failed to get a majority. Out of 13 seats, the party could win only five, BJP five and Independents won two. In Bari Brahamana, out of total 13 seats, PDP won five, BJP two, NC three, Independent one and BSP two. In R.S. Pura, the Congress swept by winning seven seats out of 13. BJP won two, NC one and Independents three. In Ramgarh, the Congress failed to open its account. PDP won four seats, BSP and BJP three each and two seats went to Independents. In Arnia committee, out of 13 seats, Congress bagged nine, BSP two, PDP and NC one each. In Samba, out of 13 seats Independents won four seats, Congress three, BJP three, JKNPP one. In Vijaypur out of 13 seats PDP won eight seats, Congress two, BSP one, NPP and NC one each. In Kathua BJP gave a severe setback to the ruling Congress in Basohli where BJP won 11 seats out of 13. However, in Kathua council, the Congress managed to win eight seats out of 13 while BJP won three, Independents four (two Congress-supported). In Lakhanpur also, the Congress have won six seats out of seven. Independent won one seat. In Billawar out of seven seats Congress won three, BJP two and Independents two. In Hiranagar Congress won five, BJP three, NC two and Independents one. In Nagri committee out of 13 seats Congress won five seats, BJP three, NC one and Independents three.


Return to the Archives 2005 Index Page

Return to Home Page