August 2005 News

Raza wins Kargil by-election

31 August 2005
The Daily Excelsior
Excelsior Special Correspondent

Kargil: Independent candidate Ghulam Raza was declared elected by the Returning Officer for 50-Zanskar Assembly Constituency for which the by-election was held on Aug 25. Mr Raza won the elections with a margin of 3966 votes defeating his nearest rival National Conference candidate, Sayed Abbas. Mr Raza polled 8942 votes while Sayed Abbas got 4976 votes. The other three independent candidates- Tsering Gyalpo secured 1843 votes, Ghulam Mohammed 273 while Mohd Amin bagged only 266 votes. According to RO, Fida Hussain, out of the total 21922 electorate of 50 Zanskar Assembly Constituency by- election, 16300 voters exercised their franchise during polls on August 25. After declaring the result Ghulam Raza addressed a huge gathering at public Park Kargil. While speaking on the occasion, he extended thanks to the people of Zanskar area for their support. He assured the people of the constituency to work with honesty and dedication for the welfare and development of his area. The prominent speakers included Chief Executive Councilor, LAHDC Kargil Haji Asgar Ali Karblai, Mohd Hussain and Ex-MP Mohd Hassan Commander. Later, Mr Raza was taken in a procession from Baroo to the Public Park, Kargil. Executive Councilors Nissar Hussain Munshi, Haji Mohd Ishaq, Sonam Namgyal and Kachoo Gulzar Hussain Khan were also present on the occasion.


Return to the Archives 2005 Index Page

Return to Home Page