October 2005 News

Ladakh Front Wins 17 Seats

22 October 2005
The Tribune

Jammu: The Ladakh Union Territory Front (LUTF) has so far bagged 17 out of 25 council seats in Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC), elections to which were held on October 16, The Deputy Commissioner of Leh, Mr Satish Nehru, said last evening. The counting of votes was undertaken last morning and 17 council seats went in favour of LUTF Mr Nehru, who is also the election authority for LAHDC, told PTI on phone here. As per the available trends, the LUTF was going to form the council, he said, adding that the remaining results were likely to be announced soon. The LAHDC has 30 councillors. Of these 20 councillors are elected and rest are nominated. Earlier, Rigzin Spalbar of Congress was declared elected uncontested from Skumarkha constituency on September 21. There were 64 candidates in the fray in the third general LAHDC elections, held on October 16. Of these 25 belonging to LUTF, 25 others to Congress and remaining 14 were independents. LAHDC has 94,375 voters spread over 223 polling stations in the district.


Return to the Archives 2005 Index Page

Return to Home Page