March 2006 News

Jehad Council Leaders' Sit-in Continues

16 March 2006
The Nation

Lahore: Government officials have shown great resentment over the publication of the letter written to President Musharraf by Muttahida Jehad Council, which says that they (the Council Components) will be constrained to think otherwise, if the government doesn't change its Kashmir policy, the reliable sources told. The government has also restricted the Pakistani and AJK political and religious party leaders to meet the Jehad Council leaders who are staging 'sit-in'. The sources report that the Jehad organisations are under constant pressure after President Bush's visit to South Asia to dismantle their network and to cooperate with the government in order to make Kashmir solution a possibility. The sources also told newsmen that Muttahida Jehad Council in spite of the all-round efforts of the government channels, is not ready to compromise with them. On the contrary, it is insistent on continuing 'jehad' and also protesting the government's new Kashmir policy. Withdrawing from liberation movement of Kashmir would mean faithlessness to sacrifice of a hundred thousand martyrs of Kashmir and to leave the innocent Kashmiris on the mercy of Indians, Jehadi leaders maintained. 'If Government of Pakistan feels that Kashmir Liberation Movement is a danger for it, it should get aloof, leaving Mujahideen to carry on the task themselves,' the sources said. They believed that the protest of the council might prolong as the Jehad Council had set-up a three-member committee for mutual consultation. This committee was formed a few days before in a meeting held under the chairmanship of Syed Salahuddin. The meeting was also attended by Muhammad Usman of Muslim Janbaz Force, Sh Jamilur Rehman of Tehrik Al-Mujahideen, General Abdullah of Jamiatul Mujahideen, Zakiur Rehman of Defunct Lashkar-e-Taiba, Bakht Zamin Khan of defunct Al-Badr Mujahideen, Abdul Raoof of defunct Jaish-e-Muhammad, Mushtaq Ahmad Zargar of Al-Umr Mujahideen, Bilal Ahmad Baig of Islamic Front, Maj Muhammad Tariq of Tehrik-e-Jehad, Maulana Farooq of Harkatul Mujahideen, Farooq Qureshi of Al-Barq, Jan Muhammad of Harkatul Jehad Islami, Ejaz Rizvi of Hizbul Momin, Khawaja Nazir of Al-Jehad, Javaid Ahmad Wani of Hizbullah, Nasrullah of Al-Fatah Force, Saifullah of Hizb-e-Islami and Munir Ahmad of 313 Brigade. In the meanwhile, different organisations have condemned the torture exercised on the arrested Jehad Council leaders. They said that the jehad organisations would face all the moves to sabotage the liberation movement. They have vowed to keep on to struggle, caring little the government pressure.


Return to the Archives 2006 Index Page

Return to Home Page