March 2006 News

25 contesting for NALC seats

18 March 2006
The Dawn

Skardu: As many as 25-candidates are contesting for the technocrats and womenís reserved seats of the Northern Areas Legislative Council scheduled to be held on March 22. Returning officer, Muhammad Abbas said on Saturday that six candidates (Male) will contest on PML ticket for technocrat seats are Aslam advocate (Gilgit), Ghulam Nabi (Skardu), Jan Alam (Diamer), Ghulam Hussain (Ghangche), Hazrullah (Astore) and Ali Murad (Ghizer), while Dilshad Bano (Gilgit), Fouzia Saleem Abbas (Skardu), Hamida Mustafa (Diamer), Amina Ansari (Ghangche), Noorullain (Ghizer) and Shahida Yousaf (Astore), respectively. The returning officer said that three independent candidates are contesting for technocrat seats from Gilgit. Mirza Yousaf Hussain (Skardu), Haji Mohammad Saleem (Ghangche), Juma Seed (Diamer), Murtaza Khan (Ghizer) and Iqbal (Astore) are also contesting as independent candidates. For special womenís seats, Rani Atiqa Ghazanfer (Gilgit), Kulsoom Ilyas (Skardu), Gul Mera (Diamer), Habiba Zahra (Ghangche) and Yasmeen (Ghizer) are independent candidates, while Shahida Yousaf is contesting from Astore.


Return to the Archives 2006 Index Page

Return to Home Page