May 2006 News

35 leaders invited for conference

20 May 2006
The Hindu
Staff Reporter

Jammu: Even as a section of separatist leadership rejected the Prime Minister's invitation for the second round table conference, mainstream leaders are all set to participate. Thirty-five invitations have been sent by the Prime Minister's Office and the Home Ministry for the two-day conference to be chaired by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh. Well placed sources told The Hindu that all the major political parties had got the invitation. Most of the persons whose names figure in the list had also participated in the first round table conference. Invitees Among those who got the invitation include National Conference president Omar Abdullah, Chief Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad, former Chief Minister and People Democratic Party leader Mufti Mohammad Sayeed, People Democratic Party president Mehbooba Mufti, Communist Party of India(Marxist) legislator M.Y. Tarigami and Panthers Party chief Bhim Singh. While the Geelani led Hurriyat has rejected the invitation, the faction led by Mirwaiz Umar Farooq and other separatist leaders would take a decision on May 22.


Return to the Archives 2006 Index Page

Return to Home Page