June 2006 News

AJK Elections: Final List Of Candidates With Symbols Notified

23 June 2006
Associated Press of Pakistan

Mirpur: The AJK election Commission on Friday notified the final list of candidates with symbols for the forthcoming July 11 General Elections in the Azad territory. The Election Commission sources told APP here that all necessary arrangements are being finalized for holding the elections in free, fair and transparent manner. The Army will assist the local civil administration to maintain peace and order in the area. A total of 3750 polling stations will be established across Azad Jammu Kashmir, EC sources said. Over 24 lakh eligible registered voters would move to the polling stations to exercise their right of franchise to elect the 41 seat AJK Legislative Assembly for next five years constitutional term. It may be added that eight reserved seats of the AJK Legislature will, later on, be filled in by the electoral college comprising 41 elected members of the assembly. The reserved seats include five for women and one each for technocrats, Ulema-Mushaikh and overseas Kashmiris. Meanwhile, Azad Jammu Kashmir government has directed the employees to strictly follow the code of conduct announced by the AJK Elections Commission to ensure the holding of the elections in free and fair manner, an official notification issued by the AJK government said.


Return to the Archives 2006 Index Page

Return to Home Page