July 2006 News

PPAJK, JKPP Field Zafar, Khalid For PM, President Slots

17 July 2006
The News International

Islamabad: The Peoples Party Azad Jammu and Kashmir (PPAJK) and its ally Jammu Kashmir Peoples Party (JKPP) fielded Sahibzada Ishaq Zafar and Sardar Khalid Ibrahim Khan for the slot of AJK prime minister and president. Addressing a joint press conference here on Monday, Ishaq Zafar further said that Chaudhry Latif Akbar and Sardar Ghulam Sadiq Khan have been nominated to contest for the slot of speaker and deputy speaker of the AJK Legislative Assembly. He informed that Shazia Akbar of Kotli has been nominated for the special seat for women while Syed Nishat Kazmi was nominated for the seat of technocrat. Secretary General PPAJK Chaudhry Yaseen, Secretary General JKPP Syed Nishat Kazami, Sardar Ghulam Sadiq Kahn Chaudhry Latif and others were present on the occasion. Ishaq Zafar said that the PPAJK and JKPP appeared as a big group in the AJK election in spite of interference by Islamabad, which kept its whole machinery engaged in the pre-planed rigging, especially in the constituencies of Kashmiri refugees in Pakistan.


Return to the Archives 2006 Index Page

Return to Home Page