July 2006 News

Vote today: 14 nomination papers filed for AJK president office

26 July 2006
The Daily Times

Muzaffarabad: All Jammu and Kashmir Muslim Conference and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) Azad Kashmir candidates have submitted 14 nomination papers for election to the office of Azad Kashmir president, for which voting will be held today (Thursday). The polling will be held from 1100am to 300pm in the AJK Legislative Assembly. Eleven nomination papers were submitted on behalf of Muslim Conference candidate Raja Zulqarnain Khan, while three nomination papers were submitted by the PPP AJK on behalf of its candidate Sardar Qamaruz Zaman. AJK Chief Election Commissioner Riaz Akhtar Chaudhry, who is also the AJK High Court chief justice, received the nomination papers. The AJK electoral college consists of 56 members - 49 legislators of the AJK Legislative Assembly, six members of the AJK Council (Upper House of Azad Kashmir) and the federal minister for Kashmir affairs. Presently, there are only five members in the AJK council because Raja Najeeb Naqi resigned from the council and was elected to the AJK Legislative Assembly. With the election of the new president, the election process and the formation of the AJK government will be completed. The tenure of outgoing AJK President Sardar Anwar Khan will end on August 23.


Return to the Archives 2006 Index Page

Return to Home Page