July 2006 News

Zulqarnain Elected AJK President

27 July 2006
The News International

Muzaffarabad: Muslim Conference candidate Raja Zulqarnain Khan was elected as the 21st president of Azad Jammu and Kashmir by securing 40 votes, while his opponent Sardar Qamar Zaman of the Pakistan People's Party Azad Kashmir candidate obtained eight votes. The electoral collage for the election of the AJK president comprises 49 members of the AJK Legislative Assembly, six members of the AJK Council and Federal Minister for Kashmir Affairs. A total of 48 votes were cast in the election. Four members of the People's Muslim League (PML) and Sardar Khalid Ibrahim of Jammu Kashmir Peoples Party did not take part in the proceedings. PML's Abdul Hamid Pothi, also abstained, while Dr Najeeb Naqi, has resigned from the AJK Council after being elected as member of the AJK Legislative Assembly. The polling was held at the chamber of AJK Speaker, AJK Election Commissioner Sheikh Muhammad Nasim acted as the presiding officer. After his election, Raja Zulqarnain thanked the legislators and the Muslim Conference workers for their cooperation and help. He said: 'I am thankful to Almighty Allah, who provided him this opportunity to work for the Kashmir cause and the people and development of the area in his capacity.' Being the president, he said, he would extend every possible help and cooperation to the AJK government and work with Prime Minister Sardar Attique Ahmed Khan for progress and prosperity of the people, reconstruction of quake-hit areas and rehabilitation of the victims. The AJK president hailed the AJK Chief Election Commissioner and his all staff for the holding of transparent, free and fair elections. Besides the founder President of AJK Sardar Muhammad Ibrahim Khan, Col (Retd) Ali Ahmed Shah, Mirwaiz Maulana Yousaf Shah, Sardar Muhammad Abdul Qayyum Khan, Major General (Retd) Abdul Rahman Khan, Major General (Retd) Muhammad Hayyat Khan, K H Khurshid, Sardar Sikandar Hayyat Khan and Major General Sardar Muhammad Anwar Khan served as the AJK presidents.


Return to the Archives 2006 Index Page

Return to Home Page