May 2007 News

Cabinet okays 6 pc DA, 4 new sub treasuries

17 May 2007
The Daily Excelsior
Excelsior Correspondent

Srinagar: The State Cabinet today released six per cent Dearness Allowance (DA) in favour of Government employees and pensioners with effect from January 2007 and approved recommendations of a Cabinet sub- committee regarding creation of new administrative units but deferred a minor recommendation of the panel due to differences among the Ministers. The Cabinet approved promotion of seven Superintending Engineers in PWD and Mechanical Engineering Department as Incharge Chief Engineers. The Cabinet, which met in Srinagar under the chairmanship of Chief Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad, also ordered appointment of Dr Rajinder Singh, HoD Chest Diseases (CD) as new Principal of Government Medical College (GMC) Jammu from June 1 in place of Dr Mumtaz Goni, who is superannuating on May 31. An official hand-out said the Cabinet, which was not attended by Finance Minister Tariq Hamid Qarra and Rural Development Minister Jugal Kishore due to personal reasons, released six per cent DA for Government employees and pensioners. This will raise DA of the employees from 29 per cent to 35 per cent. Increase in DA will also apply to IAS officers working in the State. Arrears of DA installment will be paid in cash, the release said. The Cabinet approved recommendations of Cabinet Sub-Committee regarding creation of new administrative units as proposed by Bloeria Commission. However, a recommendation of the Committee pertaining to tehsil headquarters was deferred. Reliable sources said the PDP Ministers wanted tehsil headquarters at Kreeri, some other Ministers including School Education Minister Peerzada Mohd Sayeed and CAPD Minister Taj Mohi-ud-Din wanted it for Wagoora. A decision to this effect was, therefore, kept pending, they added. The Cabinet approved promotion of four SEs as Incharge Chief Engineers in Public Works Department in their own pay and grade against available vacancies. They include B K Sharma, Ram Saran Bangotra, Nazir Ahmad and Sheikh Mohammad Hussain. Three SEs, who were promoted as Incharge CEs in Mechanical Engineering Department, include Gul Mohammad, Vinod Kumar Puri and Arun Kumar Sharma. Following promotions, 10 Chief Engineers have been transferred and adjusted. Initially, an Information Department handout said M M Sharma, Chief Engineer, R&B Jammu had been transferred and posted as MD J&K Housing Board replacing Iftikhar Ahmad Andrabi. Later, the Department issued a telephonic clarification saying Mr Sharma will continue as Chief Engineer R&B. Iftikar Ahmad Andrabi, Managing Director J&K Housing Board, has been transferred and posted as Chief Hospital Engineer in Sher-e-Kashmir Institute of Medical Sciences (SKIMS), Srinagar. B K Sharma, Incharge Chief Engineer has been transferred and posted as MD JK Housing Board vice Mr Andrabi. Ram Saran Bangotra, has been posted as Incharge Chief Engineer in Economic Re-construction Agency (ERA). The post of Mr Bangotra has been upgraded to the level of Chief Engineer. Nazir Ahmad has been posted as Chief Engineer R&B Kashmir. Sheikh Mohammad Hussain, Incharge Chief Engineer has been transferred and posted as Joint Development Commissioner, Works. He will also hold additional charge of Chief Engineer, Mughal Road. Mohammad Shahban Najar, Incharge Chief Engineer, R&B Kashmir will report to Administrative Department for further posting in Railways- IRCON. Gul Mohammad, Incharge SE has been place as Incharge Chief Engineer and posted as Chief Engineer Mechanical Engineering Department, Kashmir. Vinod Kumar Puri, Incharge SE Mechanical, has been posted as Incharge Chief Engineer, Director Stores Procurement, J&K. Arun Kumar Sharma, Incharge SE Mechanical has been posted as Incharge CE MD JK Cements. B L Thusoo, officiating MD JKPCC, has been confirmed on the same post. Meanwhile, Civil Secretariat Non- Gazetted Employees Union has hailed the decision of Government to release 6 percent DA installment in favour of employees and pensioners. Union President Nazir Ahmad, welcoming the decision, expressed gratitude to Chief Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad and Minister for Finance Tariq Hamid Qarra. He, however, reminded other demands of the employees including revival of LTC and enhancement of retirement age from 58 to 60 years.


Return to the Archives 2007 Index Page

Return to Home Page