November 2007 News

Pak-India should agree on formula to find Kashmir solution: Chattha

8 November 2007
The Pakistan Tribune

Islamabad: Chairman Parliamentary Committee of Kashmir, Hamid Nasir Chattha suggested that Pakistan and India should agree on a formula to find the solution of Kashmir problem as this would ensure peace in the world and there can be no development without peace. He expressed these views while chairing a high level meeting of Kashmir Committee held here in the Parliament House on Thursday. He said that Pakistan wants to resolve Kashmir issue and this sensitive problem will be resolved one day. We will continue to support Kashmiris morally and politically at all forum till they get their right of self- determination, he further said. The minister for Health Mr. Naseer Khan in his remarks said that after 9-11, the freedom movements have been dubbed as the terrorists movements and urged the need to re- define the definition of Kashmir of terrorism. He said Kashmiris have suffered from the imposition of special laws in occupied Kashmir enacted by Indian Parliament. Dr. Abdul Malik was of view that we should strive to formulate our policies based on internal and external realities and facts. The members of Committee observed that will of Kashmiris has not been broken despite their governance by specific laws and they are still struggling for their freedom from India. The members while reviewing performance of Committee, expressed their profound appreciation on the working and leadership of chairman and said that Committee has been successful in highlighting the issue and mustering support for Kashmir at global level. All members developed a consensus over and above party politics and had a unified stance on this sensitive issue during tenure of the Committee. The meeting was attended by Ministers for Information, Mohammad Ali Durrani, Religious Affairs Mr. Ijaz ul Haq and Health Mr. Naseer Khan, Ministers of state Malik Amin Aslam, Prof. Mushtaq Victor, Mir Muhammad Naseer Khan Mengal, Sardar Talib Hussain, Chaudhry Imran Ullah Advoate, Mr. Munir Khan Orakzai, Nawab Amanullah Khan MNAs, Maulana Gul Naseeb, Mrs Rukhsana Zuberi, Mir Israrullah Khan Zehri and Col (r) Syed Tahir Hussain Mashahidi senators.


Return to the Archives 2007 Index Page

Return to Home Page