Amarnath Sangharsh Samiti to boycott talks with all-party delegation

9 August 2008
The Hindustan Times

Jammu: Shri Amarnath Sangarsh Samiti on Saturday said it will boycott the all-party delegation's visit to Jammu, alleging that three of its members, including NC leader Farooq Abdullah and PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti, were 'responsible for the land row'. 'We will boycott the delegation as Mehbooba, Farooq and (Saifuddin) Soz are part of the team. They are responsible for Amarnath land issue,' Samiti convener Leela Karan Sharma said. An 18-member all-party delegation headed by Home Minister Shivraj Patil will arrive in Jammu on Saturday to assess situation in the wake of continuing violence in Jammu over the Amarnath land transfer issue. The members of the delegation are Arun Jaitley (BJP), Amar Singh (SP), Sitaram Yechury (CPM), D Raja (CPI), Mohsina Kidwai (Congress), Farooq Abdullah (NC), Mehbooba Mufti (PDP), KC Tyagi (JD-U), Naresh Gujral (SAD), Akhthar Hassan (BSP) and RC Paswan (LJP), Raghuvansh Prasad Singh (RJD), A Raja (DMK), Prithviraj Chavan and Sriprakash Jaiswal (both Congress). The samiti had on Friday decided to meet the all-party delegation led by Patil. The SASS is demanding revocation of the decision stalling the transfer of nearly 100 acres of forest land to the Shri Amarnath Shrine Board (SASB).