Top separatist leaders released in Kashmir

1 September 2008
The Hindustan Times

Srinagar: Jammu and Kashmir Government on Monday night released three separatist leaders including fire-brand Jamaat-e-Islamia leader Syed Ali Shah Geelani and moderate Hurriyat Conference chairman Mirwaiz Umer Farooq arrested a week ago. Official sources said Geelani, the Mirwaiz and JKLF Chief Yaseen Malik were released this evening following a decision by the Government. The three were arrested on August 24 and 25 after the separatists had given a call for a march to Lal Chowk to protest against the alleged economic blockade to the valley and withdrawal of 'black' laws.