Notification For Seventh Phase Of J&K Polls Issued

26 November 2008
The Hindu

Srinagar: The notification for the seventh and final phase of assembly elections in 21 constituencies of Jammu and Kashmir spread over three districts of Srinagar, Samba and Jammu was issued by the State Governor N N Vohra on Wednesday, an official spokesman said here. The constituencies - Hazratbal, Zadibal, Idgah, Khanyar, Habba Kadal, Amira Kadal, Sonawar and Batamaloo in Srinagar district, Samba and Vijaypur in Samba district, Nagrota, Gandhinagar, Jammu East, Jammu West, Bishnah, R S Pura, Marh, Suchetgarh, Raipur Domama, Akhnoor and Chhamb in Jammu district - will go to polls on December 24. While December three will be the last date for filing of nominations, scrutiny of the papers will be held the next day and the last date for withdrawal of candidature has been fixed as December six. As many as 1,872 polling stations would be set up for an electorate of 16,91,797 in the 21 constituencies. While voters of ten constituencies spread over four districts of Bandipora, Leh, Kargil and Poonch registered their choice on November 17, electorate of six constituencies of Rajouri (Four) and Ganderbal (Two) cast their ballots on November 23 in the second round. The electorate of five constituencies of Kupwara district will vote on November 30 in the third phase, while voters of Baramulla, Budgam, Reasi and Udhampur will exercise their franchise in the fourth round on December seven. Voters of 11 constituencies covering Pulwama (4), Shopian (2) and Kathua districts (5) will vote on December 13 and in the sixth phase voters of Kulgam district (four), Anantnag (six), Kishtwar (two), Doda (two) and Ramban (two) will cast their vote on December 17. Counting of votes would be held on December 28.