Elated BJP activists celebrate party’s victory in Assembly poll

28 December 2008
The Daily Excelsior
Avtar Bhat

Jammu: Elated with party’s performance in the Assembly elections which bagged 11 seats in Jammu region, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) activists took out victory processions in different parts of Jammu city and its outskirts soon after the results came out. The BJP Office at Kachhi Chawni was agog with festivities from early in the morning as the trends started pouring in with jubilant partymen raising slogans in support of its candidates and leaders. As the first result came in favour of party from Reasi Assembly constituency, where BJP candidate Baldev Sharma defeated his nearest rival of Congress and ex Minister Jugal Kishore Sharma by a margin of 6,662 votes, the party activists bursted crackers, danced to the beating of drums and distributed sweets. The BJP candidate got 26,031 votes while 19,369 votes were polled in favour of Jugal Kishore Sharma. This continued till late in the evening when last result came and BJP candidate Prof Chaman Lal Gupta was declared elected from Jammu West who beat his nearest rival and independent candidate Surinder Singh Shingari by a margin of 13,037 votes. Congress heavy weight and former Deputy Chief Minister, Mangat Ram Sharma who got 13,853 votes was relegated to third place. Prof Gupta was later taken into a huge procession to the party office by his supporters. The partymen who were in a jubilant mood waiving BJP flags were also dancing and raising slogans in support of senior BJP leader and the Party. Talking to mediapersons Prof Gupta termed the BJP’s victory a verdict in favour of nationalist forces and against those who were responsible for the 60 year long discrimination with Jammu region. Victory procession was also taken after the BJP candidate from Raipur Damana, Bharat Bhushan (Bodhi) was declared elected, trouncing his nearest rival of Congress and former Minister Mula Ram by a margin of 12,312 votes. Mr Bhushan got 28,685 votes while Mr Ram got 16, 373 votes. Mr Bhushan was taken straight way to BJP office in a procession by his supporters from M A M College the venue of the counting. The jubilant Party activists firing crackers and raising slogans in support of Mr Bhushan took him on shoulders and profusely garlanded him. Later a victory procession was also taken in various parts of the constituency by the supports of Mr Bhushan. BJP candidate from Nagrota Assembly segment, Jugal Kishore Sharma who won for the second consecutive term from the constituency by defeating his nearest rival Ajat Shatru Singh of NC by a margin of 1620 votes was also taken into a big procession by his supporters from counting centre to party office at Kachi Chawni. Hundreds of partymen besides greeting Mr Sharma at BJP Office showered flowers on him. Mr Sharma got 11,141 votes while Mr Singh got 9521 seats. The supporters of BJP state president, Ashok Khajuria also took out a huge procession from different parts of the city to party office after he was declared victorious from Jammu East Assembly Segment. Khajuria beat his nearest rival of Congress and Ex JMC Mayor Narinder Singh by a margin of10,404 votes. The BJP leader got 15,857 votes while Mr Singh got 5453 votes. BJP candidate from Marh Assembly segment Ch. Sukhnandan was also taken into a huge rally to party office by his supporters who were dancing and raising slogans in praise of Mr Sukhnandan. The newly elected MLA from Marh was greeted in Party office by hundreds of partymen by bursting crackers. Mr Sukhnandan defeated his nearest rival and NC heavy weight Ajay Sadhotra by a margin of 6,581 votes. Mr Sukhnandan got 18,368 votes while 11,787 votes were bagged by Mr Sadhotra. The BJP also celebrated the victory of its candidates in RS Pura and Suchetgarh constituencies. In RS Pura a huge procession was taken out by the partymen in support of its candidate, Prof Garu Ram who beat his nearest rival and senior Congress leader Suman Bhagat by a margin of 1,630 votes. Prof Garu Ram got 15902 votes while Mrs Bhagat got 14,272 votes. At Suchetgarh the supporters of BJP candidate Sham Choudhary who defeated the NC candidate and youth leader Taranjit Singh Tony by a margin of 7,592 votes took out a huge procession to celebrate the party victory. Mr Choudhary got 17,995 votes while Mr Tony bagged 10,403 votes. The Congress candidate and ex Minister Garu Ram who got 6,545 votes was relegated to third place.