23 File Nomination For Jammu Lok Sabha Seat

31 March 2009

New Delhi: WITH 15 contestants filing the nomination papers on the last day (March 30) as many as 23 candidates are in the fray in the prestigious Jammu parliamentary constituency, in Jammu and Kashmir. The scrutiny of the nomination papers was done on March 31, while the last date for withdrawal of candidature is April 2. Polling for Jammu constituency will take place on April 31 as per the five stage schedule of the Election Commission. A total number of 17,21,696 electors including 8,89,562 male and 8,32,134 female voters will exercise their franchise across four districts of Samba, Jammu, Rajouri and Poonch, spread over 20 Assembly segments. Among those who filed their nomination papers on the last day, included Hilal Ahmad Baig of Bhaujan Sampuran Krantikari Party, Sant Ram of Bharatiya Bahujan Party, Uday Chand of Dugar Pradesh Party, Satish Poonchi (Sawhney) of J&K People’s Front, Surjit Singh “G” Sitara of Rashtriya Krantikari Samajwadi Party, S Tarlok Singh of J&K PDP, Sanjeev Kumar Manmotra of Lok Janshakti Party, Ravi Mahajan of Shiv Sena Hindustan and the independents included Mushtaq Hussain, Ashok Kumar, Hari Singh, Labha Ram, Naresh Dogra, Sanjeev Kumar and Ramesh Chander Sharma.