Sajjad Lone Files Nomination In Kashmir

23 April 2009

Srinagar: People's Conference chairman Sajjad Gani Lone filed nomination from Baramulla-Kupwara constituency, becoming the first separatist leader in Kashmir to contest the general elections. Lone was among the 14 other candidates who filed nominations from Baramulla. Ghulam Rasool Shah alias Imran Rahi, former Hizbul Mujahideen commander and the Awami National Conference candidate also filed his nomination papers. 'Till now, all the parliamentarians have ignored the feelings and emotions of common man. And they never even took name of Kashmir issue or human rights violations in the Parliament. We want that if we enter Parliament, we could raise voice for these issue and other matters concerning emotions and sorrows of Kashmir people,' said Rahi. Sharifuddin Shariq, candidate of the National Conference Party and Dilawar Mir, candidate of the People's Democratic Party also filed nomination for the Baramulla-Kupwara constituency.