Mehbooba Seeks Vote For K-issue

1 April 2014
Kashmir Observer

Anantnag: Promising that she would advocate the resolution of Kashmir issue in the Indian parliament, the opposition leader Mehbooba Mufti Tuesday filed her nomination papers from the Anantnag parliamentary constituency. She also expressed anguish over the hanging of Parliament attack convict Afzal Guru saying 'he was hanged despite the fact that he was at number 29 in the death row'. 'Devandar Singh Bhullar's death sentence was commuted but not of Guru's. This gives a sense of discrimination,' she said. The PDP leader claimed that her party took lead in divulging the election manifesto for the upcoming parliamentary elections. Taking a dig at the ruling National Conference she said, 'We won't trade our MPs for ministerial berths in the Union government.' She pointed out various pressing issues like water, revival of state's economy, reopening of old trade routes that connect Kashmir to the outside world. 'We need to achieve all this.' Immediately after filing her nomination at the District Magistrate's office Mufti said, 'Only Allah knows who will win. But if people repose faith in us we will represent issues of people and the Kashmir issue in the Parliament. There is a need to make people aware of Kashmir situation outside.' Without naming National Conference, the PDP chief said, 'There are parties here that traded MPs for ministerial berths. Omar sahib was a minister in the NDA government. He continued with it despite the Gujarat riots. We will not enter the parliament for any ministerial posts.' Mufti, however, ducked questions about her parties possibility of forging any formal alliance with the NDA for the upcoming polls. Mehbooba is pitted against the NC's sitting member of parliament Mehboob Beg . Her party PDP 12 out of 16 MLAs from South Kashmir's Parliamentary segment. Mehbooba was flanked by the senior party leaders and legislators on the occasion, which include Abdul Rehman Veeri, MLA; Sofi Abdul Gaffar, MLA; Rafi Ahmad Mir, MLA; Peerzada Mansoor Hussain, MLA; Peer Mohammad Hussain, Nazir Ahmad Laway, Chaudry Nizamudin Khatana, Syed Farooq Andrabi, Abdul Rahim Rather, Advocate Shiekh Javaid, Zaffar Ullah Wani, G A Thakur and Imran Amin. Pertinently, the PDP has nominated the senior party leader and former deputy chief minister, Muzzafar Hussain Baig as its candidate from Baramula parliamentary constituency; the senior party leader and former finance minister Tariq Karra has been nominated from Srinagar. Similarly, Yashpal Sharma is the party's candidate from Jammu and Arshad Malik has been nominated from Udhampur parliamentary constituency.