66% Polling Stations Marked Hypersensitive In Srinagar

4 April 2014
The Tribune (Chandigarh)

Srinagar: Over 95 per cent polling stations in Srinagar parliamentary constituency, which is scheduled to go to polls on April 30, have been designated as hypersensitive and sensitive. Out of the total of 1,546 polling stations in the constituency, 1,021 have been designated as hypersensitive, while 470 have been marked as sensitive, which together constitute for 96.4 per cent of total polling stations of the Srinagar parliamentary segment. A marginal 3.6 per cent or 55 polling stations in the constituency have been categorised as normal. The segment is spread over three districts, including the summer capital. 'Out of the total number of these polling stations, 1,021 are hypersensitive, 470 are sensitive and 55 are normal,' Deputy Commissioner, Srinagar, Farooq Ahmad Shah, who is also the District Election Officer for the constituency, told reporters here. He added that the numbers were ascertained by the security agencies and magistrates. Shah, however, said a security plan has been formulated for all the three districts where polling will be held at 968 locations. Meanwhile, the poll notification for the constituency was also issued today. 'The last date of filing nominations will be April 9. Scrutiny of nominations will be conducted on April 10 and the last date for withdrawal of nomination will be April 12,' the official said. Srinagar parliamentary segment comprises Srinagar, Budgam and Ganderbal districts. The Deputy Commissioner said 804 polling stations would be located in Srinagar district, 540 in Budgam district and 202 in Ganderbal district. 'In addition to these, 13 polling stations will be established in Jammu, four in Delhi and one in Udhampur for migrant voters,' he said. Shah further said 11,71,772 voters have registered so far in the Srinagar constituency and the number was continuously increasing. In 2009 parliamentary election, the number of voters in the constituency was 11,06,729. Srinagar is likely to witness a close contest between the National Conference and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). While the NC, which is partnering the Congress in a pre-poll seat sharing arrangement, has announced to field sitting MP and party president Farooq Abdullah from the constituency, the PDP would field its urban-face and former finance minister of the state Tariq Hameed Karra from Srinagar. Farooq had defeated PDP's Iftikhar Hussain Ansari by 30,242 votes in 2009. The Deputy Commissioner, meanwhile, said elaborate arrangements have been made to maintain law and order in the constituency. He said 15 assistant expenditure observers, 15 video surveillance teams, 15 video viewing teams, 15 accounting teams, 45 flying squads, 45 static surveillance teams, 45 magistrates, 22 zonal officers and 87 sector officers have been appointed for the election related duty. Number game Out of the total of 1,546 polling stations in the Srinagar constituency, 1,021 have been designated as hypersensitive and 470 have been marked as sensitive A marginal 3.6 per cent or 55 polling stations have been categorised as normal