4 More Join Fray In Ladakh

19 April 2014
The Daily Excelsior

Jammu: On last day of nominations for Ladakh Lok Sabha seat, four more candidates including Congress rebel Ghulam Raza, former MLA today joined the fray, taking total number of candidates in the contest to 9. Apart from Raza, three other candidates, who filed their nomination papers for Ladakh seat today, were Tsering Dorjey, covering candidate for BJP, Haji Mohammad Hassan Lal, covering candidate for Ghulam Raza and Mohammad Abbas (Independent). Dorjey is former Chief Executive Councilor of Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC), Leh. Reports said with four candidates filing their papers on last day of nominations today, a total of nine candidates have joined the electoral battle for Ladakh seat, which would go to polls in fifth and final phase for Jammu and Kashmir on May 7. Five candidates, who have already filed their nomination papers, are Thupstan Chhewang, former MP (BJP), Tsering Samphel (Congress), Aga Syed Kazim Sabri, Anayat Ali and Mohammad Amin (all Independents). The candidature of Sabri is backed by powerful religious body-Islamiya School Kargil (ISK). Similarly, the candidature of Ghulam Raza, is backed by another powerful religious body of Kargil-Imam Khomeini Memorial Trust (IKMT). Raza had resigned as district president of Congress for Kargil to join the electoral battle after being denied the mandate. Scrutiny of nominations will be held on April 21 while the candidates can withdraw their nomination papers till April 23.