J-K Polls: Congress Announces First List Of Candidates

29 October 2014
India Today

New Delhi: Congress on Wednesday released the first list of 15 candidates for the upcoming Assembly polls in Jammu and Kashmir. The Election Commission of India had announced Assembly polls in Jammu and Kashmir on October 25. The elections will be held in five phases between November 25 and December 20 and counting of votes will take place on December 23. Polling will take place on November 25, December 2, 9, 14 and 20. The ruling National Conference (NC) is yet to decide on the mandates for three constituencies out of 15. Out of these fifteen constituencies, the National Conference has not given mandates in three assembly seats Ganderbal, currently represented in the state legislature by NC working president and Chief Minister Omar Abdullah, Bandipora and Inderwal. National Conference has released three lists of mandates so far and there are still many constituencies including three - Hazratbal, Sonwar and Zadibal - in Srinagar district, where candidates have not been finalised yet. The party has not yet decided on the seat for Omar and though the leadership was divided over Ganderbal and Sonwar, the NC working president may ultimately fight the battle from the family's traditional bastion Ganderbal in central Kashmir. The current six-year term of Assembly of Jammu and Kashmir Assembly comes to an end on January 16.