AJK Celebrates Victory Of Newly Elected British MPs

12 May 2015
The Nation

Mirpur: The victory of all ten newly-elected Pakistan-origin members of House of Commons, the lower house of British Parliament, including five hailing from Mirpur district, was celebrated here on Monday. Five of all ten newly elected Pakistan-origin members of the lower house of the British Parliament, belong to Mirpur district of Azad Jammu Kashmir. A grand ceremony was held at the Pothi House here to celebrate the victory of Barrister Imran Hussain from Bradford constituency. Imran belongs to Pothi village in outskirt of Mirpur. He is the grandson of late Ch Muhammad Azam, former Deputy Speaker of AJK Legislative Assembly and former Chairman MDA. Addressing the ceremony, hosted by his uncle and Director General Mangla Dam Housing Authority Ch Zulfiqar Azam, speakers including Commissioner Mangla Dam Affairs Muhammad Tayyeb, DIG Police Mirpur Range Dr Khalid Mahmood Chauhan, Kashmir Press Club President Altaf Hamid Rao, Mirpur District Bar Association President Muzaffar Ali ZAffar Advocate, Overseas Kashmiris leader Syed Nazar Hussain Shah, City Administrator Sajid Mahmood Pehelwan, Ch Zulfiqar Azam and others congratulated the respective families of the newly Pakistan and AJK-origin members of British Parliament, elected in May 7 general elections in United Kingdom. Speakers expressed the hope that the newly-elected Pakistan-origin British Parliament members would raise the importance of early settlement of Kashmir issue in the British Parliament under the spirit of the international norms. They said that Kashmiris right to self-determination was already acknowledged by the world community through the UN resolutions. 'It would be the global and moral responsibility of new British government including the newly-elected Pakistan and AJK members to raise the issue of the freedom of Jammu & Kashmir through the early grant of the right to self-determination in line with the UN resolutions. It may be added that the five newly-elected Kashmir-origin British Parliamentarian included the newly-elected British MP from Birmigham Mirza Khalid Mahmood of Labour Party, who retained the office, belongs to Dadayal town of this district. Similarly, the newly-elected MP from Bradford Ms Naz Shah of Labour Party belongs to her native town of Chakswari, the parent constituency of the incumbent AJK Prime Minister, in this district. The triumphant MP Naz Shah defeated her nearest rival George Galloway, the chief of Respect Party. Likewise, the newly-elected MP from Bradford, Barrister Imran Hussain of Labour Party belongs to adjoining village Pothi of Mirpur city. Whereas the newly-elected MP from Birmingham Shabana Mahmood of Labour Party belongs to Mangla, Mirpur. Latest reports spoke of the winning of the British Parliament elections by a total of nine Pakistan-origin British nationals in 650-seat lower house of the British Parliament - the House of Commons. Rest of the newly-elected Pakistan-origin British MPs included Tasleema Sheikh of Scotish National Party from Scotland, Yasmeen Qureshi of Labour Party, elected from Luton, Sadiq Khan of Labour Party, elected from Nottingham¸ Sajid Javed of Conservative Party, elected from London and Rehman Chishti of Labour Party.