April 2017 News

Budgam Re-polls Today Amid Unprecedented Security

12 April 2017
Rising Kashmir
Javid Ahmad

Srinagar: Massive deployment of police and paramilitary forces has been made to ensure peaceful re-poling in 38 booths of Budgam district on Thursday. Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) J&K, Shantmanu said adequate arrangements of security and videography have been made for re-polling at 38 polling stations in Budgam district of Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency. The CEO convened a meeting to review arrangements for the re-poll. He said that the poll process at all the polling stations will be videographed. 'Besides one micro-observer from central government offices will also be deputed for each polling station where re-polling is being conducted,' he said. He said that all other arrangements mandated by the Election Commission of India for ensuring free and fair polls have also been put in place. The re-polling at the 38 polling stations in Budgam will begin at 7 am and will conclude at 4 pm. Speaking to Rising Kashmir, Director General of Police (DGP), SP Vaid said sufficient security arrangements have been put in place to ensure that April 9-like situation is not repeated. 'We have taken sufficient security arrangements so that there is no violence or hindrance during re-polls. I am sure this time April 9-like situation will not happen. Sufficient force has been put in place and all precautions have been taken for re-polls,' the DGP added. Vaid said security arrangements have been taken keeping in view all the factors that led to violence on April 09. Meanwhile, sources told Rising Kashmir that the re-polling will be closely monitored by SP rank officers to ensure violence free polling. 'The re-polls will be held under tight security keeping in view Sunday's violence in several areas of Budgam,' sources said. Besides J&K police large number of CRPF companies will guard the polling booths. Rising Kashmir learnt from sources that around 150 CRPF companies were deployed for by-polls for the Srinagar parliamentary constituency. 'But this time additional forces would be deployed in poll-bound areas of Budgam for smooth conduct of the polls.' 'Deployment of around 21 companies was delayed earlier on Sunday due to bad weather and highway blockade and additional force was used in an indirect manner,' said sources in CRPF. 'Security concerns were being considered seriously and now around 60 CRPF companies will be deployed in poll-bound areas for maintaining law and order,' sources said. 'Re-polling is to be held in specific polling booths at 32 locations so security has been strengthened further and deployment will be made later in the night.' On Sunday, the day Srinagar parliamentary constituency went for by-polls, seven civilians were killed in Budgam and one in Ganderbal after forces opened fire at protesters. The hostile situation prompted election authorities to defer Anantnag by-polls to May 25 and announce re-polls in 38 polling stations which were affected by violence and witnessed very low turnout in Budgam. The voting in many polling stations was either disallowed by people or voters stayed away from voting. To ensure smooth re-polls is seen as a serious challenge for the government. For the first time, Srinagar constituency recorded low voter turnout with only 7.14 percent out of which 3.84 percent was recorded in Srinagar, 8.82 percent in Budgam and 14.71 percent in Ganderbal districts. As per the ECI notification, the polling stations in Chadoora Assembly constituency, where re-polling will take place include 31-Bogam Batepora (B), 32-Bogam Batepora (B), 33-Nowbug, 39-Chack Mahand-Joo-Dhar, 52-Wathora (B), 54-Zoolwah, 55-Gopalpora (A), 56-Gopalpora (B), 57-Dooniwari, 60-Kralpora (A), 61-Kralpora (B), 63-Kralpora (D), 65-Dharambug (A), 66-Dharambug (B), 87-Bagi Mehtab (B) and 98-Dharambug (C). In Budgam Assembly Constituency, the re-polling would be held on 22- Nusurullah Pora (B), 23-Nusurullah Pora (C), 28-Galwanpora (A), 30-Haripora, 32-Wara Sangam, 40-Soibug (H), 107-Putlibagh and 120-Galwanpora (B) polling booths. Similarly, in Beerwah Assembly Segment, the re-polling would be held on 15-Kanihama, 29-Badran (B), 34-Peerpora, 89-Sehpora and 94-Gundipora (A) polling booths. Likewise, the re-polling would also be held on 7-Repora, 9-Gopal Saif (A), 16-Nowpora, 38-Chrar-i-Sharief (M), 86-Kanir (A), 87-Kanir (B), 90-Hushroo and 91-Wagam of Chrar-e-Sharief Assembly Segment and polling booth number 79-Kandora (B) of Khan Sahib Assembly Constituency.